Call us: 651-571-4125
Menu Call Now

Minnesota Personal Injury Statutes of Limitations

Statue of Limitations

Minnesota has time limits for when a lawsuit can be brought.  These are called “Statutes of Limitations.” If a person fails to bring a lawsuit within the applicable time period – they may lose the right to pursue their case.  If you have been injured, it is very important to contact a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible in order to protect your rights.  

 

Case Type: Animal Attacks & Dog Bites

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Auto, Car & Truck Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Bicycle Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Boat & Jet Ski Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Burn Injuries

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Claims Against a Municipality (City or Township)

Notice deadline from when an injury occurs

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 466.05, Subd. 1

Limitations Period: 180 days from the date of injury

 

Notice deadline from when the death occurs

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 466.05, Subd. 2

Limitations Period: 1 year from the date of death

 

Case Type: Claims Against the State of Minnesota

Notice deadline from when an injury occurs

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 3.736(5)

Limitations Period: 180 days from the date of injury

 

Notice deadline from when a death occurs

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. 3.736, Subd. 6

Limitations Period: 1 year from the date of the death

 

Case Type: Construction Site Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Defective Product

Notice deadline once an attorney-client relationship is formed

Minnesota Statute: Minn Stat. § 604.04

Limitations Period:  6 Months from the formation of the relationship

 

Case Type: Dram Shop/Illegal Liquor Sales

Notice deadline once an attorney-client relationship is formed

Minnesota Statute: Minn Stat. § 340A.802, Subd. 2 –

Limitations Period: 240 days from the formation of the relationship

 

Case Type: Intentional Torts (i.e. assault, battery, false imprisonment)

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.07

Limitations Period: 2 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Limitations on Cases Involving Minor Children

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.15(a)(1)

Limitations Period: 1 year once the child reaches the age of majority (this applies even if the statute of limitations has run out prior to the child turning 18.  Note, there is a tolling provision for medical malpractice cases.)

 

Case Type: Medical Malpractice Resulting In Death

Minnesota Statute: Minn Stat. § 541.07 & Minn. Stat. § 573.02

Limitations Period: 3 years from the death.  However, no more than 4 years from when the claim initiated

 

Case Type: Medical Malpractice Resulting in Injury

Minnesota Statute: Minn Stat. § 541.076

Limitations Period: 4 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Motorcycle Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Pedestrian Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Plane Crashes

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 Years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Rollover Accidents (including SUVs, Vans & ATVs)

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: School, Commercial, & Public Bus Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Semi Trailer/18-Wheeler Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Slip & Fall or Trip & Fall

Slip & Fall Negligent based on poor maintenance, operation or inspection

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5):

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Slip & Fall Negligence based on a defective design or improper construction.

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.051, Subd. 1(c):

Limitations Period: 2 years after discovery of the injury but not more than 10 years after completion of the project

 

Case Type:  Train Accidents

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 541.05, Subd. 1(5)

Limitations Period: 6 years from the date of injury

 

Case Type: Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Cases

Minnesota Case Law: Nelson v. State Farm Ins. Co.

Limitations Period: 6 years running from the date of the accident

 

Case Type: Wrongful Death Matters

Minnesota Statute: Minn. Stat. § 573.02, Subd. 1

Limitations Period: The lesser of 3 years from date of death or 6 years